Bruce Dye, DDS, MPH

Bruce Dye, DDS, MPH

Director, Dental Public Health Research Fellowship Program

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)
Bethesda, MD 20892-2190
United States

(301) 496-7765
Biographical Sketch

Dr. Bruce A. Dye is a dental epidemiologist and Director of the Dental Public Health Research Fellowship Program at NIDCR. He has directed fellowship programs at the institute for more than 6 years. He is an active diplomate on the American Board of Dental Public Health.

After graduating from the Ohio State University College of Dentistry, Dr. Dye began his U.S. Public Health Service career assigned to the Indian Health Service working in IHS clinics and hospitals in South Dakota and Michigan as a clinical dentist and program director. He later completed a master’s in public health at the University of Michigan, epidemiology training at Johns Hopkins University, and a dental public health residency at NIDCR. For more than a decade, he was a dental epidemiology officer at the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS), part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). He was responsible for providing training and quality oversight of dental examiners for the National Health and Nutrition and Examination Survey (NHANES), for producing analytical reports assessing the oral health of the US population, and serving as a dental public health subject matter expert for NCHS.

Dr. Dye has been involved in several research projects covering a wide spectrum of topics including periodontal disease and dental caries epidemiology; oral health disparities; and oral health research methodology. He has collaborated on several studies and survey operations both nationally and internationally. He has published more than 80 scientific articles, reports, and other materials, including co-editing the revised and updated 7th edition of Dentistry, Dental Practice and the Community. He has served on national or inter-agency work groups, committees, and editorial boards. Dr. Dye has received awards for scientific excellence, including recognitions from the CDC and the American Academy of Periodontology.

Last Reviewed on
September 2021